top of page

New Motor bracket 95% done

I'll have to take pictures later, but I have built my motor bracket using a combination of 1/4" aluminum and 3/8" rubber. The rubber was in a roll and I couldn't find (at the time) a good way to hold it flat while cutting so unfortunately the whole bracket isn't perfectly flush. I have 3 holes left to drill and put 3" 10 24 stainless steel bolts through and it should be ready for a trial.

We are looking to go sail camping this weekend. The only high priority items left I'd like to do before are the centerboard case gasket which should be a quick project tonight after the 3 remaining bolts on the motor bracket. Then adjusting the motor idler (probably use some blue loc-tite) once we tune it to exactly where we want it. Hopefully I am able to get this done tonight, and that it doesn't take too long.

I did write out a lengthy list yesterday of little small things I want to do, like fine tune the furling lines.

Of course once all of the rope clutches I ordered come, I'll be adding those, most likely next week.

As I said in my review, I am just not a fan of bottom of the mast built in clutches. I know for a trailer sailor they kind of make sense to some degree, however I like everything back to the cockpit through rope clutches so I can have the boat as solo-able as possible.

After this is all said and done we'll have to get back to building our custom dodger from the materials I have for the bimini.

If we left the bimini fully intact, I just don't see how it could possible to use it while sailing.

Since it's a cruiser for us, having a removable dodger(mini bimini) to provide some spray, rain, and some sun protection will definitely be a welcome addition.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page